New Zealand Book Awards


Suite 3, Level 2, 58 Surrey Crescent
Auckland, NZ

The New Zealand Book Awards celebrate excellence, identifying the very best books for adult readers written by New Zealanders. From 2016, in a partnership between the New Zealand Book Awards Trust and the Auckland Readers and Writers Festival Trust, they will be held annually as part of the Auckland Writers Festival. This enables a valuable synergy between an event that attracted over 60,000 attendances in 2015 and New Zealand writers.
Books submitted in the four main categories, written by first-time authors, are also eligible to win the Best First Book awards for Fiction, Poetry and Non-Fiction.
Books written entirely in te reo are eligible for the Maori Language award.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $50,000

  • Additional Information: Winners of the other three category awards each receive $10,000, the Maori Language award $10,000, and each of the winners of the three Best First Book awards, $2,500.

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Miles Franklin Literary Award
    The Miles Franklin Literary Award, recognised as Australia's most prestigious literary prize, is presented each year for the novel of the highest...

    The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize
    The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize is awarded in honour of acclaimed Calgary writer W.O. Mitchell and recognizes literary achievement by Cal...

    Florida Book Awards
    The Florida Book Awards is an annual competition that exists for one purpose--to honor the best work written by Florida authors and about Florida cult...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.