Mythopoeic Fantasy Award



Address:

306 Edmon Low Library
Oklahoma State University

Stillwater, OK 74078
US

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Awards are chosen from books nominated by individual members of the Mythopoeic Society, and selected by a committee of Society members. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards


Submission Info

Prize Info

2973 Followers on Twitter


Related Contests

Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Lib...

Carnegie Medal
The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The book must have received its first publication in the Uni...

Georges Bugnet Award for Fiction
The Alberta Literary Awards were created by the Writers' Guild of Alberta in 1982 to recognize excellence in writing by Alberta authors.

The Ge...

Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.