PublishersArchive.com

Directory of book publishers, literary awards, book events and more

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award


306 Edmon Low Library
Oklahoma State University

Stillwater OK 74078





The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Awards are chosen from books nominated by individual members of the Mythopoeic Society, and selected by a committee of Society members. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards


Mythopoeic Fantasy Award is listed in the following categories:

Related Contests

New England Book Awards
Titles must be either about New England, set in New England or by an author residing in New England. It can be a hardcover, a paperback original or r...
Deadline: 2016-06-10

CANSCAIP Writing For Children Competition
A goal of the Writing for Children Competition is to discover, encourage, and promote new writers of children's literature across Canada. The Wri...
Deadline: 2016-07-31

Illumination Book Awards
With the motto, “Shining a Light on Exemplary Christian Books,” the Illumination Book Awards are designed to honor the year’s best new titles wr...
Deadline: 2016-11-19