• Home
  • Awards
  • Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic

Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic

The Sunburst Award Society



2 Farm Greenway
Toronto, ON M3A 3M2


The Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a juried award which recognizes exceptional writing in three categories: adult, young adult and short story. The awards are presented each fall to the best Canadian speculative fiction novel, book-length collection, or short story published any time during the previous calendar year.

The work must be literature of the fantastic, which includes fabulism, fantasy, magic realism, science fiction, speculative fiction, supernatural horror, and magic realism.

The work must be a novel, or novel-length short story collection. Short stories have their own category and are any length under novel length. The author must be Canadian—that is, a Canadian Citizen (native or naturalized; resident in Canada or residing outside Canada) or Landed Immigrant in Canada.

Translations into English are considered on an equal footing with works written originally in English. Only the first translation of a work is eligible.

The work must be substantially text-based and have been published in book or in e-book form. Novels and short story collections published in any given calendar year are eligible for consideration in the following calendar year. If a work was not submitted in its first year of eligibility it can then be submitted for consideration one year later. No work can be submitted twice. Short stories have only one year of eligibility.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $1,000 for each of the Adult and Young Adult categories, and of $500 for the short story category

  • Related Contests

    Shelf Unbound Competition For Best Indie/Self-Published Book
    Any independently published book in any genre is eligible for entry. "Independently Published" books include self-published books and e-books (such as...

    New Zealand Book Awards
    The New Zealand Book Awards celebrate excellence, identifying the very best books for adult readers written by New Zealanders. From 2016, in a partne...

    Betty Trask Prize & Awards
    The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are for first novels written by authors under the age of 35, who reside in a current or former Commonwealth nation. T...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.