Directory of book publishers, literary awards, book events and more

New Zealand Book Awards

  [Auckland Writers Festival]

Suite 3, Level 2, 58 Surrey Crescent
Grey Lynn

Auckland 1021

The New Zealand Book Awards celebrate excellence, identifying the very best books for adult readers written by New Zealanders. From 2016, in a partnership between the New Zealand Book Awards Trust and the Auckland Readers and Writers Festival Trust, they will be held annually as part of the Auckland Writers Festival. This enables a valuable synergy between an event that attracted over 60,000 attendances in 2015 and New Zealand writers.

Books submitted in the four main categories, written by first‐time authors, are also eligible to win the Best First Book awards for Fiction, Poetry and Non-Fiction.

Books written entirely in te reo are eligible for the Māori Language award.

  • Submission Instructions/Form

  • View Past Winners

  • Cost to Enter: $150 NZ

  • Submission Deadline: Oct 05, 2017

  • First Prize: $50,000

  • Other: Winners of the other three category awards each receive $10,000, the Māori Language award $10,000, and each of the winners of the three Best First Book awards, $2,500.

New Zealand Book Awards is listed in the following categories:

Related Contests

Pacific Northwest Book Awards
Since 1964 the PNBA has presented annual awards to recognize excellence in writing from the Pacific Northwest. Rather than soliciting nominations for ...
Deadline: 2017-09-30

Shelf Unbound Competition For Best Indie/Self-Published Book
Any independently published book in any genre is eligible for entry. "Independently Published" books include self-published books and e-books (such as...
Deadline: 2017-10-01

Saskatchewan Book Awards
The Saskatchewan Book Awards offers 14 annual or semi-annual awards to celebrate, promote and reward Saskatchewan authors and publishers worthy of rec...
Deadline: 2017-11-01