Governor General's Literary Awards

Canada Council for the Arts


150 Elgin St
P.O. Box 1047

Ottawa, ON K1P 5V8


French-language book in each of the seven categories of Fiction, Literary Non-fiction, Poetry, Drama, Children’s Literature (text), Children’s Literature (illustrated books) and Translation (from French to English).

Books published in English between 1 September 2014 and 28 February 2015 must reach the Canada Council no later than 15 March 2015. Books published between 1 March 2015 and 15 May 2015 must reach the Canada Council no later than 1 June 2015. Books and bound proofs published between 16 May 2015 and 30 September 2015 must reach the Canada Council no later than 1 August 2015.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • Additional Information: Non-winning finalists receive $1,000

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Caldecott Medal
    The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Lib...

    Carnegie Medal
    The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The book must have received its first publication in the Uni...

    Geisel Award
    The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award is given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers pub...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.