Literary contests from Australia and New Zealand

Book Awards & Writing Competitions- Australia & New Zealand

ARA Historical Novel Prize

With prize money of $100,000, the ARA Historical Novel Prize gives Australian and New Zealand historical novelists the chance to be recognised in a class of their own, with the most significant prize purse for any genre-based prize in Australasia. The 2021 Prize will now incorporate a newly created ...

    Sydney, NSW   AU

Aurealis Awards

Any work of speculative fiction written by an Australian citizen or permanent resident and published for the first time during the calendar year is eligible to be entered.

Works must be published and available to the general public to be eligible. This includes self-published works. Unpublished ma...

    Karabar , NSW   AU

Australian Shadows Award

The Australian Shadows Awards celebrate the finest in horror and dark fiction published by an Australasian within the calendar year. Works are judged on the overall effect of a work—the skill, delivery, and lasting resonance. Entries are open across eight categories, including: the Paul Haine...

    Murrumbeena, VIC   AU

City of Fremantle Hungerford Award

The Hungerford Award is open to unpublished full-length works of fiction or narrative non-fiction by Western Australian authors. Those from outside the state are able to submit too, provided their work has a heavy WA focus. ...

    NorthFreemantle, WA   AU

Daisy Utemorrah Award

The Daisy Utemorrah Award is for an unpublished manuscript of junior or YA fiction by a First Nations author. The 2023 Daisy Utemorrah Award is open to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people currently living in Australia. The Daisy Utemorrah Award is proudly presented as part of the W...

    Broome, WA   AU

Dorothy Hewett Award

The Dorothy Hewett Award is open to all writers who have completed a manuscript and are seeking publication. The work must be fiction, narrative nonfiction or poetry, inclusive of hybrid genres such as verse novels or memoir. The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000, courtesy of Copyright Age...

    Perth, WA   AU

Miles Franklin Literary Award

The Miles Franklin Literary Award, recognised as Australia's most prestigious literary prize, is presented each year for the novel of the highest literary merit that presents Australian life in any of its phases. The award was established in 1955 through the will of Stella Maria Sarah Miles Fra...

    Sydney, NSW   AU

Western Australian Premier's Book Awards

A biennial award made available by the Western Australian Government and are managed by the State Library of Western Australia.

The categories are as follows: Children’s Books, Digital Narrative, Fiction, Non-fiction, Poetry, Scripts, Writing for Young Adults, West Australian History and W...

    Perth, WA   AU

New Zealand Book Awards

The New Zealand Book Awards celebrate excellence, identifying the very best books for adult readers written by New Zealanders. From 2016, in a partnership between the New Zealand Book Awards Trust and the Auckland Readers and Writers Festival Trust, they will be held annually as part of the Auckland...

    Auckland,   NZ

New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults

Awards for the New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults are made in four categories: Young Adult Fiction, Junior Fiction, Non-fiction and Picture Book. Five finalists are selected for each category and from these a winner in each category is selected. Young Adult Fiction and ...

    Wellington,   NZ

When I Met My Feelings

EK Books is an award-winning, traditional children's publishing with a mission to publish 'Books with heart on issues that matter'. We believe that books provide an essential role in helping children overcome common issues and gain the tools they need to thrive in a complex world. To ...

    Dunedin, Otago   NZ