Directory of book publishers, literary awards, book events and more

Book Publishers Directory

Publishing Directory

Welcome to the new and improved publisher directory pages on The site is now fully responsive, and should be easily navigated with mobile devices. We are constantly honing and updating these lists, and including your submissions as well. Please feel free to send your publisher, contest, or event site for inclusion, or send in comments or changes to existing listings.

Recently Added Publishers

Spinner Publications
Spinner Publications is an independent, nonprofit cultural organization whose purpose is to preserve and promote the history and culture ...
New Bedford, MA   US   [Read More]

Hay House
Hay House is one of the fastest-growing self-help and transformational publishers in the world, selling our products to more than 35 countries ar...
Carlsbad, CA   US   [Read More]

New World Library
Passionate about the mind-body-spirit books we publish, for 35 years we've helped readers transform their lives and the world....
Novato, CA   US   [Read More]

Upcoming Book Events

Southern Festival of Books
A three-day literary event, welcoming more than 20,000 visitors and over 200 guest authors. Festival goers enjoy book signings and panel discussi...
Starts: 2015-10-10   [Read More]

Vancouver Writers Fest
The Vancouver Writers Fest turns reading into a community experience, bringing people together to share thoughts, explore ideas, and witness bril...
Starts: 2015-10-20   [Read More]

Dundee Literary Festival
Welcome to the 2014 Dundee Literary Festival, five days of words, writing, debate, discussion – and the odd slice of cake. With a massive 60...
Starts: 2015-10-21   [Read More]

Awards News and Announcements

The GG Shortlist 2015: Outstanding 7 Categories of CanLit, Mix of Emerging and Established Authors from Across Canada
The Canada Council for the Arts today announced the 2015 shortlist for the Governor General's Literary Awards.  This year, 970 titles in th ...[read more]
Wellcome Book Prize 2016 announces new judges: Baroness Joan Bakewell DBE to chair eminent panel
Acclaimed author, journalist and broadcaster, Baroness Joan Bakewell DBE, will chair an eminent panel of judges for the Wellcome Book Prize 2016, ...[read more] Announces $25,000 Prize For Best E-Book Original Mystery Novel
Otto Penzler, President and Publisher of, has announced a contest for the Mysterious Press Award, which will be given for the ...[read more]
Kirkus Announces Finalists for the 2015 Kirkus Prize
Kirkus Reviews, the nation’s leading prepublication journal of book reviews, today announced the six finalists for the second annual Kirkus Pri ...[read more]
2015 Ottawa Book Awards and Prix du livre d’Ottawa finalists
Fans of fiction and non-fiction alike received valuable recommendations for their winter reading lists today as the City announced the finalists ...[read more]

US Book Publishers By State





























New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota





Rhode Island

South Carolina

South Dakota







West Virginia



Upcoming Contest Deadlines

Arthur Ellis Awards
The Arthur Ellis Awards are a group of Canadian literary awards, presented annually by the Crime Writers of Canada for the best Canadian crime and mys...
Deadline: 2015-10-15

Paddy Power Political Book Awards
The Paddy Power Political Book Awards in association with seeks to recognise the very best in political writing and publishing. Winner...
Deadline: 2015-10-15

Unhanged Arthur Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel
The competition is open to (1) Canadian citizens, no matter where they are living, and to writers, regardless of nationality, who have Permanent Resid...
Deadline: 2015-10-15

Amy Lowell Traveling Poet Scholarship
The American poet Amy Lowell died in 1925. Her will established an annual scholarship to support travel abroad for gifted American-born poets. The sc...
Deadline: 2015-10-15

Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction
The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was set up to celebrate excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women throughout the world...
Deadline: 2015-10-17

Cybils Awards
The Cybils (Children’s and Young Adult Bloggers Literary) Awards were started by a small group of bloggers in 2006 as a grassroots project. Our ...
Deadline: 2015-10-25

PEN/Fusion Emerging Writers Prize
The PEN/Fusion Emerging Writers Prize is an annual award that recognizes a promising young writer of an unpublished work of nonfiction that addresses ...
Deadline: 2015-10-26

Young Readers Choice Awards
The Pacific Northwest Library Association’s Young Reader’s Choice Award is the oldest children’s choice award in the U.S. and Canada...
Deadline: 2015-10-30

Lionel Gelber Prize
The Lionel Gelber Prize was founded in 1989 by Canadian diplomat Lionel Gelber. The prize is a literary award for the world’s best non-fiction book ...
Deadline: 2015-10-31

IRA Children's and Young Adults' Book Awards
The IRA Children’s and Young Adults’ Book Awards are intended for newly published authors who show unusual promise in the children’s and...
Deadline: 2015-10-31

Recently Added Contests

Amy Lowell Traveling Poet Scholarship
The American poet Amy Lowell died in 1925. Her will established an annual scholarship to support travel abroad for gifted American-born poets. T...
Deadline: 2015-10-15   [Read More]

Shelf Unbound Competition For Best Indie/Self-Published Book
Any independently published book in any genre is eligible for entry. "Independently Published" books include self-published books and e-books (su...
Deadline: 2015-10-01   [Read More]

National Business Book Awards
Books must be Canadian business-related and published in 2015. Accepted themes include business management, business history, business biography,...
Deadline: 2015-12-11   [Read More]

Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award
The Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver Canadian Picture Book Award was established in 1985 following the death of Elizabeth Mrazik-Cleaver, one of Canada's...
Deadline: 2015-12-11   [Read More]

Sneak Peak Writing Competition for Unpublished Writers
We are excited to announce the beginning of a new writing competition. The Sneak Peak Writers Contest is for unpublished writers who would like t...
Deadline: 2016-02-01   [Read More]