Ockham New Zealand Book Awards

NZ Book Awards Trust



Level 2, The Darby Building, 8 Darby Street
Auckland, NZ

The Ockham New Zealand Book Awards are the country’s premier literary honors for books written by New Zealanders. These awards have a rich history, having evolved from earlier literary awards. The original awards were established in 1968 as the Wattie Book Awards, later becoming the Goodman Fielder Wattie Book Awards. Subsequently, they were known as the Montana New Zealand Book Awards and the New Zealand Post Book Awards.

The awards recognize books in several categories: Fiction, Poetry, Illustrated Nonfiction, General Nonfiction, First Time Authors, and Maori Language Writing

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $65000 Fiction prize

  • Second Prize: $12000 award for other categories

  • Third Prize: $3000 for Best first book prize

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Byron Caldwell Smith Book Awards
    These awards are given biennially to one individual in each of three categories, residing or employed in Kansas, who has authored an outstanding book ...

    National Book Awards
    The National Book Award is one of the nation’s most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality w...

    Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA)
    The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) was established in 1988 to recognize books that substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the a...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.