• Home
  • Awards
  • Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA)

Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA)


Duluth, MN US

The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) was established in 1988 to recognize books that substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the areas of history, culture, heritage, or lifestyle. Starting with a single category in the early years, the awards have grown to include six categories, selecting a Winner and an Honorable Mention in each area.

Prizes are currently awarded in six categories:
Nonfiction: nonfiction works such as history, biography, guidebooks, cookbooks, books about science and nature, scholarly works, and art/photography books.
Fiction: novels, short stories, plays, and other works of narrative fiction.
Children’s Literature: picture books and beginning readers, generally for ages 0-7.
Middle Grade/Young Adult: chapter books and books for a teen audience, generally for ages 8-18.
Poetry: collections of poetry or a single poem of book length.
Memoir: books that examine some aspect of the world from a highly personal perspective.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $200

  • Second Prize: Glass plaque and 100 book seals

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Aspen Words Literary Prize
    The Aspen Words Literary Prize is a $35,000 annual award for an influential work of fiction that illuminates a vital contemporary issue and demonstrat...

    Book Excellence Awards
    The Book Excellence Awards (www.bookexcellenceawards.com) is an international book awards competition.

    The Book Excellence Awards is d...

    Eric Hoffer Award for Independent Books
    The Eric Hoffer Award for independent books recognizes excellence in publishing with a $2,000 grand prize and various category honors and press type d...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.