BMO Winterset Award


1 Springdale Street
St John’s, NL CA

The BMO Winterset Award celebrates and supports excellence in Newfoundland & Labrador writing. Writers must be either native-born Newfoundlanders or residents of the province. All published literary works are eligible: novels, poetry, non-fiction, collections of essays, works of drama, and books for children and young adults. The only criterion is literary excellence. Some 35 to 45 works are entered into the competition annually.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $12,500

  • Second Prize: $3000

  • Third Prize: $3000

  • Additional Information: The award is presented each year in March at a ceremony at Government House.

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    FAPA President’s Book Awards
    Each year the Florida Authors and Publishers Association (FAPA) sponsors the FAPA President's Book Awards, which recognizes book publishing excell...

    CWA Communications Contest
    Each year, the Cat Writers’ Association selects the best entries in each category and awards them with Certificates of Excellence. The highest-scori...

    National Book Awards
    The National Book Award is one of the nation’s most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality w...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.