For more than 50 years, the St. Louis Literary Award has honored many of the most important writers of our time and celebrated the contributions of literature in enriching our lives. The St. Louis Literary Award is among the oldest and most prestigious of literary prizes in the country.

From 1967 until 1981, the award was known as the Messing Award in honor of Roswell and Wilma Messing Jr., who provided the initial funding for the prize. The St. Louis Literary Award recognizes a living writer with a substantial body of work that has enriched our literary heritage by deepening our insight into the human condition and by expanding the scope of our compassion. It is presented annually by the Saint Louis University Libraries.

Submission Info

Prize Info

Questions to Ask Publishers Before Accepting an Offer

Related Contests

Bath Novel Award
£2,000 international prize for unpublished or independently published writers of novels for adults or young adults. Judge: Susan Armstrong of Convill...

John Dos Passos Prize for Literature
The John Dos Passos Prize for Literature is given annually by Longwood University to an underappreciated writer whose work offers incisive, original c...

Windham-Campbell Prizes
The Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes call attention to literary achievement and provide writers the opportunity to focus on their wo...

Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.