The CLMP Firecracker Awards for Independently Published Literature are given annually to celebrate books and magazines that make a significant contribution to our literary culture. These awards recognize the publishers who strive to introduce important voices to readers far and wide.

Prizes are awarded in the categories of Fiction, Creative Nonfiction, Poetry as well as magazine categories.

Books must be published by an independent publisher during the specified calendar year. Self-published titles are not eligible.

Submission Info

  • Cost to Enter: $65

  • Submission Deadline: Nov 17, 2023

Prize Info

  • First Prize: Winner in each book category receives $2000

  • Additional Information: Winners are also part of a national publicity campaign to promote winning titles

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Byron Caldwell Smith Book Awards
    These awards are given biennially to one individual in each of three categories, residing or employed in Kansas, who has authored an outstanding book ...

    National Book Awards
    The National Book Award is one of the nation’s most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality w...

    Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA)
    The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) was established in 1988 to recognize books that substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the a...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.