The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are for first novels written by authors under 35, who reside in a current or former Commonwealth nation. The award was established in 1984 by the Society of Authors at the bequest of the late Betty Trask, a reclusive author of over thirty romance novels.

The awards are given to traditional or romantic novels rather than those of an experimental style and can be for published or unpublished works.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: £10,000

  • Additional Information: £20,000 in total prize money awarded

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Word by Word - WCSC Short Fiction Contest
    Final judge: Hilary McMahon of Westwood Creative Artists, Toronto.
    The maximum word count is 1500 words (title not included). Any entries longe...

    Canada-Japan Literary Awards
    The Canada-Japan Literary Awards recognize literary excellence by Canadian writers writing on the subject of Japan, or Japanese culture.

    These awa...

    New England Book Awards
    Titles must be either about New England, set in New England or by an author residing in New England. It can be a hardcover, a paperback original or r...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.