Tom McKitterick, the former editor of Political Quarterly and author of an unpublished novel, endowed the McKitterick Prize which was first awarded in 1990. It is also generously supported by Hawthornden Literary Retreat. It is given annually to an author over the age of 40 for a first novel, published or unpublished.

Applicants must be living and over the age of 40
Applicants must not have had any other novel published (excluding works for children)
Submissions must be a full-length novel in the English language by one author
Submissions must be a work of ‘fiction or imagination or substantially of fiction or imagination’
Submissions must either have been published or self-published in the UK in the 12 months preceding submission (and not first published abroad) or unpublished
If unpublished, the work must not have been previously submitted for the McKitterick Prize.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: £4000

  • Second Prize: £1000

  • Additional Information: each shortlisted author receiving £1,000 (up to four authors)

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA)
    The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) was established in 1988 to recognize books that substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the a...

    QWF Awards
    Every year, The Quebec Writers’ Federation shines the spotlight on the best English-language writers to emerge from Quebec. The QWF Awards inclu...

    Lush Triumphant Literary Awards
    Open to short fiction (3,000 words max), poetry (5 related poems, up to 15 pages), and creative non-fiction (max 4,000 words). Winning entries will re...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.