Windham-Campbell Prizes


New Haven, CT US

The Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes call attention to literary achievement and provide writers the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns.

The prizes are open to English-language writers at all stages of their careers from anywhere in the world, so long as they have one published book or one professionally produced play to their credit. Writers can be nominated for a body of work or for outstanding promise.

Awards are made by nomination only.

Winners are required to accept the prize in person and participate in a multi-day campus literary festival surrounding the prize ceremony. There are no other requirements.

Submission Info

  • Submission Deadline: Jun 15, 2023

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $165,000 unconditional grant

  • Additional Information: Eight prizes are available each year.

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Byron Caldwell Smith Book Awards
    These awards are given biennially to one individual in each of three categories, residing or employed in Kansas, who has authored an outstanding book ...

    National Book Awards
    The National Book Award is one of the nation’s most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality w...

    Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA)
    The Northeastern Minnesota Book Awards (NEMBA) was established in 1988 to recognize books that substantially represent northeastern Minnesota in the a...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.