Prairie Grindstone Prize


Calgary, AB CA

The Prairie Grindstone Prize is worth $50,000 and will go to writers in Alberta and Saskatchewan, alternating from year to year — starting with Alberta in 2023.

The literary prize is aimed at acknowledging hardworking and perhaps under-appreciated writers of fiction, poetry and creative nonfiction in the prairies.

To be eligible, the writer must be a resident of the province for the past five years, must have a minimum of four professionally published books and must be an active member of the local writing community. Authors may not self nominate and recipients will be selected by a jury of peers.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $50,000

  • Related Contests

    Miles Franklin Literary Award
    The Miles Franklin Literary Award, recognised as Australia's most prestigious literary prize, is presented each year for the novel of the highest...

    The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize
    The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize is awarded in honour of acclaimed Calgary writer W.O. Mitchell and recognizes literary achievement by Cal...

    Florida Book Awards
    The Florida Book Awards is an annual competition that exists for one purpose--to honor the best work written by Florida authors and about Florida cult...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.