California Book Awards


110 The Embarcadero
San Francisco, CA US

The Commonwealth Club of California's California Book Awards is one of the oldest and most prestigious literary award programs in the US. It has various categories including Fiction, First Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Young Adult and Juvenile. Since 1931, they have recognized California writers and publishers by awarding books that have been written by California residents and published in the same year. Self-published, vanity and hybrid-published books, as well as ebooks, are not eligible.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: Gold medal

  • Second Prize: Silver medal

  • Third Prize: Bronze medal

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    National Book Awards
    The National Book Award is one of the nation’s most prestigious literary prizes and has a stellar record of identifying and rewarding quality w...

    CIPA EVVY Book Awards
    The EVVY awards are open to any independently or self-published print book, e-book or audio book and may be submitted by the author, publisher or cred...

    CANSCAIP Writing For Children Competition
    A goal of the Writing for Children Competition is to discover, encourage, and promote new writers of children's literature across Canada. The Wri...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.