PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction


Washington, DC US

The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction honors the best published works of fiction by American permanent residents in a calendar year. The award's legacy is steeped in excellence; past winners include literary giants such as Philip Roth, Ann Patchett, and Imbolo Mbue. Books must be published by commercial, university, or independent presses in the U.S. Books that are self-published, or published by presses that charge for production or editorial services, are not eligible.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $15000

  • Additional Information: Four runners-up receive $5000 each

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    FAPA President’s Book Awards
    Each year the Florida Authors and Publishers Association (FAPA) sponsors the FAPA President's Book Awards, which recognizes book publishing excell...

    The Whistler Independent Book Awards
    Established in 2016 to recognize excellence in Canadian independent publishing, the Whistler Independent Book Awards offers prizes in two categories: ...

    CWA Communications Contest
    Each year, the Cat Writers’ Association selects the best entries in each category and awards them with Certificates of Excellence. The highest-scori...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.