A qualifying story must have strong science fiction or fantasy elements and must be shorter than 7,500 words. Stories must be original works of fiction submitted by their authors. No reprints, fan fiction, or poetry, please. The contest will be limited to the first 60 qualifying entries. While the submission deadline is September 30th, we may close off submissions for this year sooner if the response is larger than expected.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: The winner will receive a certificate of achievement, three NESFA Press books, and a free membership to Boskone

  • Second Prize: a certificate and two NESFA Press books

  • Third Prize: a certificate and two NESFA Press books

  • Additional Information: Honorable mentions will receive a certificate and one NESFA Press book.

  • Questions to Ask Publishers Before Accepting an Offer

    Related Contests

    CIPA EVVY Book Awards
    The EVVY awards are open to any independently or self-published print book, e-book or audio book and may be submitted by the author, publisher or cred...

    Bath Novel Award
    £2,000 international prize for unpublished or independently published writers of novels for adults or young adults. Judge: Susan Armstrong of Convill...

    World Fantasy Awards
    The World Fantasy Awards, established in 1975, are presented annually at the World Fantasy Convention. The World Fantasy Award has been described as ...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.