• Home
  • Awards
  • The Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence

The Crime Writers of Canada Awards of Excellence


4C-240 Westwood Road Guelph
Guelph, ON CA

The Awards are for CRIME WRITING and are not restricted to mystery writing. Crime-writing encompasses far more than the traditional whodunit. The crime genre includes crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, and thriller writing, as well as fictional or factual accounts of criminal doings and crime-themed literary works.

Awards are presented for Best Crime Novel, First Novel, Traditional Mystery, Crime Novel set in Canada, Novella, Short Story, French, Juvenile or YA, and Nonfiction.

Submission Info

Prize Info

  • First Prize: $1000 for Best Crime Novel and Best First Novel

  • Additional Information: other awards offer prizes from $200 to $500

  • Followers on Twitter

    Related Contests

    Bath Novel Award
    £2,000 international prize for unpublished or independently published writers of novels for adults or young adults. Judge: Susan Armstrong of Convill...

    John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger
    This award is for the best crime novel by a first-time author of any nationality first published in the UK in English during the judging period. It i...

    Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards
    The Bord Gais Energy Irish Book Awards are a set of industry-recognition awards set up by a coalition of Irish booksellers in 2007. The awards are own...

    Subscribe to our Newsletter for latest news.